May 2020 Entertainment Wrap Up

I’ve been really making an effort to spend time doing things I enjoy this month.  I can be bad about spending my free time doing nothing but things around the house and not taking time for myself.

 

What I’ve Been Listening To:

For podcasts, I’ve mostly been listening to episodes of Hex RatedTalk Spooky To Me3 Pagans and a Cat, & This Podcast Will Kill You.  I’ve been mostly going through the back catalog still and trying to catch up.  If you are looking for a new podcast to listen to I would highly recommend any of them.

The 10 songs I listened to the most in May were:

  1. bad guy by Billie Eilish
  2. I Disagree by Poppy
  3. No Mercy by ZAYDE WØLF
  4. bury a friend by Billie Eilish
  5. Sweet Little Lies by Bülow
  6. I Don’t Care by Fall Out Boy
  7. Puppeteer by MAX
  8. Show & Tell by Melanie Martinez
  9. Mai Tais (feat. Skylar Grey) by Train
  10. Take Me Home, Country Roads (Cyberpunk) by Melodicka Bros

 

What I’ve Been Watching:

coloroutofspace-collage-1

 

Two horror book adaptations and one nature show have been dominating my watching time this month.  I actually feel that I liked this adaptation of Pet Sematary more than the original despite the changes that were made.  Though I do feel both fail to capture the slow burn horror feel of the book, I think you would really need a series rather than a movie to get that though.  Color Out of Space was everything I wanted it to be and more.  I really hope more get made like this, Lovecraft is hard to translate to a visual medium and this movie did it well.  And of course, you know I was going to spend some time watching either a historical documentary or something nature-related.  I really enjoyed the River Monsters series, and am liking Dark Waters as well.

 

What I’ve Been Playing:

X-Com 2 & Dawn of Man have pretty much been all that I have been playing.  After loving the enemy unknown and enemy within I was hopeful for this sequel and it did not disappoint.  Dawn of Man is the type of simulation I love the most.  It provides just enough of a challenge to keep m,e engaged but doesn’t have a lot of micromanaging to worry about.

 

What I’ve Been Reading:

So full disclosure, I’ve had a terrible reading year so far.  I haven’t finished any books in 2020 so far and the only thing I read this month was The Wicked Boy: The Mystery of a Victorian Child Murderer by Kate Summerscale.  I did really enjoy it, though there were a few points where I felt there were too many detailed random tangents that distracted me as a reader.  I would highly recommend it if you like historical true crime, the Victorian era, and creepy kids.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started